Skip to content

Mac and Cheeze – I Heart You

December 15, 2009

It’s no mystery that I love the mac and cheese. In my omni days (also known as “Before I Knew Any Better”), I ate Kraft Dinner and Velveeta by the ton! Something about pasta with cheese that just makes everything right in the world. Well except for all the pain and suffering to get said cheese so, well, you get the Vegan picture, right?

Goodness knows that Saucy Shells have been a staple comfort food ever since it crossed these Vegan lips over 2 years ago. Yes, I love those shells and have to admit, I felt like I was cheating on them a bit last night when I tried a new recipe.

The main difference in the recipes is making a roux with margarine and flour vs. blending tofu and all the rest of the goodies. And after the last time I made Saucy Shells and had a blender fandango occur at the 11th hour, well, I was a bit gun shy and this allowed me to try something new. I’ll never stop lovin’ on those shells, but I’m certainly glad I tried this new yummy number that was given to me in a recipe book as a giftie a couple years ago.

Behold the Mac and Cheeze:

All I can say is that this little number was ridiculously EASY to make and way DELISH. Here’s how you can get your paws on them:

Ingredients:

1/2 lb. cooked pasta

1/4 cup margarine (I recommend Earth Balance)

1/4 cup flour

1 3/4 cup hot water

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon soy sauce (I added a little more…I can’t ever get too much!)

1/8 cup olive oil

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt margarine in a saucepan and whisk in flour to create a roux. Add everything else but oil and nutritional yeast. Once thick and bubbly, add in remaining ingredients. Pour “cheeze” over pasta and bake for 15 minutes.

NOM.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. amanda permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:49 PM

    yes.

  2. December 18, 2009 9:49 AM

    Nom!!!

Leave a comment