Skip to content

The Most Amazing Candy Bars on Earth (and Beyond) – Contest, Too!

November 13, 2009

We can’t say enough about how amazingly nom nom nom these Go Max Go candy bars really are. Nevermind that at some locations they can be close to $3 a pop, they could be $40 and we’d still buy them. They are THAT FLIPPIN’ GOOD! Dairy free, no trans fat, no cholesterol, totally Vegan, no hydrogenated oils, and 100% tasty in a wrapper.

Behold the wonders known as Mahalo, Buccaneer, Jokerz, and Twilight:

gomaxgoThe fine folks at Go Max Go sent us these to sample and review. So we rallied up two willing omnivores to also join us in this taste test to get a good gauge on how these bad boys really measured up. The omnis were pleasantly surprised at how good these candy bars were, with the Twilight being their favorite. “This is Vegan? Really?” seemed to be the question at hand. Yes, yes, they are Vegan and damn good, too.

Although tasty by their own merits, the appeal of these to many Vegans is they are quite similar to the candy bars we loved before we knew any better. Twilight is the cruelty free version of the Milky Way bar, Buccaneer is the modern day Three Musketeers, Mahalo is the twin sister to the Almond Joy, and Jokerz is the Snickers bar that no cows had to suffer for to be so delish. These candy bars are rich, quite tasty, and simply amazing. The only criticism received came from both the Veganos and the omnis: the Jokerz needs more peanuts to truly stack up and satisfy. Make no mistake, however, it did the trick and then some.

So, here’s where you come in. Tell us your favorite flavor and why. If you haven’t tried them yet, tell us which one you’d like to nosh on and why. We will randomly pick THREE WINNERS next Tuesday with the prize being your very own Go Max Go bars sent directly from them. Okay, go (Max, go)!

NOM.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 1:13 AM

    My favorite is the Buccaneer because I was a Three Musketeer fan back in the day…But I love them all!

  2. November 13, 2009 1:26 AM

    I’d have to say Mahalo because sometimes you feel like a nut…and I love coconut!

  3. karlinda permalink
    November 13, 2009 2:32 AM

    I haven’t had a Milky Way since 1982. It’d be sooo nice to have something similar again!

  4. Theo permalink
    November 13, 2009 5:55 AM

    The Twilight bar is sweet like a million love birds singing me lullabies, smooth like the Fonz, and rich like can only come from a cruelty-free product!

  5. November 13, 2009 6:24 AM

    I haven’t tried them, but I know that Jokerz would be my favourite. Peanuts and caramel!

  6. November 13, 2009 7:12 AM

    I’d love to try the Twilight bar because I have also never tried a Milky Way bar.

  7. Emily permalink
    November 13, 2009 8:09 AM

    After trying a Buccaneer bar about a month ago, I have since cleaned out the local store of their supply. So delicious!

  8. Beth permalink
    November 13, 2009 8:48 AM

    Definitely the Jokerz bar. It sounds delicious, and I love the name, too!

  9. Jennifer permalink
    November 13, 2009 10:10 AM

    I’ve never tried them but, despite the lame degrading-to-women definitely not vegetarian teeny-bopper reference, Twilight would definitely be my go to. I used to loooove Milky Ways… and Three Musketeers too… so I guess I can’t wait to try the Buccaneer too… and peanuts and almonds…. decisions decisions, I want to try them all!

  10. November 13, 2009 1:12 PM

    Mahalo!! Anything with coconut = MMMM!

  11. November 13, 2009 1:44 PM

    I’ve been wanting to try these for ages! I guess Twilight is my top choice at the moment… but Mahalo sounds excellent, too!

  12. sarah gharib permalink
    November 13, 2009 2:36 PM

    unfortunately i haven’t had a chance to try them but Jokerz sounds yummy!

  13. Cheryl Bowes permalink
    November 13, 2009 4:45 PM

    I haven’t tried one yet but can’t wait to get my hands on a Mahalo!

  14. November 13, 2009 9:21 PM

    Haven’t tried them yet either, but would LOVE to try the Mahalo!!! Almond Joy used to be one of my favorites.

  15. Tracy permalink
    November 14, 2009 12:19 PM

    I love the Twilight bar because milky way was my favorite candy bar prevegan days, but I hadn’t been able to enjoy one in almost 20 years! So thank you Go Max Go for making these!

  16. November 15, 2009 1:53 PM

    it so totally obvious that the Jokerz would be my favorite! I miss Snickers like whoa.

  17. November 15, 2009 10:08 PM

    i’ve never tried them so i’d be down to try any flavor!!

  18. Nico permalink
    November 15, 2009 11:57 PM

    I’ve only tried the Twilight bar so far, but loved every bite. I love coconut, so I’d love to try the Mahalo bar!

  19. November 16, 2009 2:02 AM

    Mmm yes please!!! I can’t find Go Max Go anywhere around here. The Jokerz was my favorite because of all the flavors and textures!

  20. Susie permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:10 AM

    I like Mahalo. It’s tropical essence gives me a reason to break out my ukulele and celebrate.

  21. November 16, 2009 8:50 PM

    mahalo! because when i was a kid, i would have killed my parents for an almond joy! i love them!!

  22. Krista permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:51 PM

    I haven’t tried them yet, but I so want to. I most want to try the Jokerz bar. It is the one that is always sold out too when I go to check them online.

  23. Becca permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:52 PM

    Jokerz, because I used to love Snickers bars!

    rebeccastar at gmail dot com

  24. Sara P permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:55 PM

    All 4 of them, preferably at the same time. The first half will go in the freezer for the best treat ever and the other half will go in my belly asap. I will need to have all 4 ready in case of a chocolate sneak attack which usually occurs at before work, at work, after work, while I’m sleeping, at the gym, in the shower, and especially while driving. You can never be too prepared!

  25. November 16, 2009 9:08 PM

    I’d love to try the twilight bar because milky way bars were my favorite when I was a kid!

  26. November 16, 2009 9:11 PM

    I had no idea these bars were available. Vegan and chocolate!!!!!! I am too excited. If I had to pick only one, I would would def go with the Mahalo,mmmmm, almonds, need I say more?

  27. November 16, 2009 9:14 PM

    They all sound delicious, but the one I’d choose to try first would probably be the Twilight bar. Vegan caramel sounds too good to pass up!

  28. Bryn permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:47 PM

    The Twilight Bar sounds amazing!!

  29. Bethany permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:52 PM

    I must say, I miss Milky Ways sometimes. I would love to try a Twilight (love the name, too!) I love chocolate, so any vegan chocolate bar that has caramel, nuts, etc. in it is AWESOME!

  30. Robin Richey permalink
    November 16, 2009 11:46 PM

    I would love to try the Jokerz bar because the combination of chocolate and peanuts is delicious!

  31. karl_hungus permalink
    November 17, 2009 11:19 AM

    Me likey the Mahalo. I always loved Almond Joys. Chocolate + Sugary Coconut + Almond = DELECTABLE.

  32. November 17, 2009 4:43 PM

    These sound amazing. I’m not vegan, but I don’t eat dairy. I will have to look for these the next time I’m at Whole Foods, especially the Twilight one because Milk Way was my favorite as a kid!

Leave a comment